///Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training
Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training2018-11-05T11:51:12+00:00

Transportation : Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training

    The SHSM in Transportation requires students to complete:

  • seven (7) sector-recognized certifications and/or training courses,
  • of these seven (7), four (4) are in areas that are compulsory,
  • the remaining three (3) are to be chosen from the list in the following chart.

   These requirements are summarized in the chart below:

  • Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Level C – includes automated external defibrillation (AED)
  • Standard First Aid
  • Health and Safety – Basic
  • Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) – generic (i.e., not site-specific) instruction
  • Air brakes
  • all terrain vehicle (ATV) safety
  • Basic electrical safety
  • CAD/CAM (Computer-aided design and computer-aided manufacturing)
  • Customer service
  • Dare to Care – Vehicle Sales and Service
  • Drive Clean
  • Elevated work platforms
  • Environmental spills
  • Ergonomics
  • Fall protection
  • Filling propane and motor fuel tanks
  • Fire extinguisher use
  • Fire safety and fire extinguisher use
  • Introduction to logistics
  • Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship
  • Ladder safety training
  • Leadership skills
  • Lockout/tagging
  • Ozone depletion prevention
  • Pleasure Craft Operator
  • Portfolio development
  • Project management
  • Sector specific regulations and legislation
  • Sector-specific vehicle operation and safety
  • Specialized skills training program/competition
  • Vehicle lift safety
  • Working at Heights