///Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training
Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training2018-11-05T10:30:34+00:00

Horticulture & Landscaping : Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training

  The SHSM in Horticulture and Landscaping requires students to complete:

  • seven (7) sector-recognized certifications and/or training courses,
  • of these seven (7), four (4) are in areas that are compulsory,
  • the remaining three (3) are to be chosen from the list in the following chart.

   These requirements are summarized in the chart below:

  • Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Level C – includes automated external defibrillation (AED)
  • Plant identification
  • Standard First Aid
  • Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) – generic (i.e., not site-specific) instruction
  • Advanced training in a technology
  • Cash handling and register training
  • Confined space awareness
  • Customer service
  • Edging and trimming
  • Grading and drainage
  • Grading and sodding
  • Herbicides and pesticides
  • Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship
  • Ladder safety training
  • Lawn mower use and safety
  • Leadership skills
  • Paver installation
  • Plant layout
  • Portfolio development
  • Project management
  • Pruning
  • Sector-specific sustainability practices
  • Sector-specific vehicle operation and safety
  • Soil classification and testing
  • Tree planting
  • Weed and pest identification and management
  • Work orders
  • Working at Heights