Business: Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training

The SHSM in Business requires students to complete:

  • six (6) sector-recognized certifications and/or training courses,
  • of these six (6), four (4) are in areas that are compulsory,
  • the remaining two (2) are to be chosen from the list in the following chart.

  These requirements are summarized in the chart below.

BUSINESS: Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training

  • Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Level C – includes automated external defibrillation (AED)
  • Customer Service
  • Standard First Aid
  • Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) – generic (i.e., not site-specific) instruction
  • Business etiquette
  • Cash handling and register training
  • Counterfeit detection
  • Effective networking
  • Equity and inclusion
  • Ergonomics
  • Ethical considerations
  • Fraud prevention
  • Fundraising
  • Health and safety – basic
  • Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship
  • Leadership skills
  • Negotiation training
  • Personality inventory
  • Portfolio development
  • Project management
  • Public Speaking
  • Retail representative
  • Sector specific software 1
  • Software
  • Specialized business program/competition (e.d., regional or provincial level DECA, Junior Achievement Company Program, Stock Market Competition, Make your Pitch, Summer Company Program)
  • Successful exhibiting