///Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training
Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training2018-11-02T15:35:18+00:00

Environment : Sector-Recognized Certifications and Training

The SHSM in Environment requires students to complete:

  • seven (7) sector-recognized certifications and/or training courses,
  • of these seven (7), four (4) are in areas that are compulsory,
  • the remaining three (3) are to be chosen from the list in the following chart.

  These requirements are summarized in the chart below:

  • Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Level C – includes automated external defibrillation (AED)
  • Compass/map global positioning system (GPS)
  • Standard First Aid
  • Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) – generic (i.e., not site-specific) instruction
  • Advanced training in a technique (e.g., knots techniques)
  • Animal and plant management
  • Bear safety
  • Below Zero
  • Chainsaw safety
  • Customer service
  • Fall protection
  • Fire safety and fire extinguisher use
  • Geographic information system (GIS)
  • Habitat restoration
  • Hike Ontario
  • Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship
  • Introduction to stream assessment protocol
  • Knots technique
  • Ladder safety training
  • Leadership skills
  • Leave No Trace
  • Life-saving (Bronze Cross)
  • Ontario Hunter Education
  • Paddling techniques
  • Pleasure Craft Operator
  • Portfolio development
  • Project management
  • Project Wild
  • Radio operator
  • Search and rescue
  • Sector-specific vehicle operation and safety
  • Soil classification and testing
  • Species identification (e.g., fish, birds, plants, trees, small mammals)
  • Water/ice safety
  • Watershed management
  • Wilderness first aid
  • Wilderness survival
  • Working at Heights